Petit Palais (small palace) was originally built in 1900 for the Universal Exhibition. It began to function as a museum in 1902. In its appearance, Petit Palais is quite similar to the Grand Palais des Champs-Elysées that is located nearby. Nowadays, the City of Paris Museum of Fine Arts (Musée des Beaux-Arts de la Ville de Paris) is located in the Petit Palais.
The exhibits in Petit Palais include paintings from medieval and renaissance periods, drawings, 18th century furniture, sculptures, etc. The museum has paintings from such famous painters as Rubens, Rembrandt, Poussin, Monet, Pissarro, and many others.
Opening hours are from 10am to 6pm, except on mondays and during public holidays. The permanent collections of the museum are available for viewers free of charge. There is an admission fee for seeing the temporary exhibitions.
For more information, see Le Petit Palais